North Carolina Post-Licensing Courses

Home / Post-Licensing / North Carolina

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type



North Carolina Post-Licensing Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective Hours
You Need: 90 90 0
We Offer: 90 90 0

North Carolina Requirement Detail for Real Estate Post-Licensing Education

Provisional Brokers must complete all 3 post licensing courses within 18 months of initial licensure to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage.

License Information: As of July 1, 2020, you MUST have a license number to REGISTER FOR a postlicense course. An individual who has NOT passed the NC State exam and does not have a license number at the time they register for a postlicensing class will NOT receive credit for any postlicense class that began on or after July 1, 2020.

Hours Required By The State: 90 hours

Completion of the following three 30 hour courses:

  • Post 301 Broker Relationships and Responsibilities
  • Post 302 Contracts and Closing
  • Post 303 NC Law, Rules, and Legal Concepts

Textbooks: Each student is required to use and have access to the current edition of the NC Real Estate Manual.  They are available for sale digitally or in print by the commission.

Post Licensing Course Credit: As of July 1, Postlicensing course credit is only awarded to individuals who are licensed when they enroll in the courses. Effective July 1, 2020, Provisional Brokers must complete all 3 post licensing courses within 18 months of initial licensure to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage.

Seat Time: All students must spend a minimum amount of time engaged in the course content. The online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.


The CE Shop Offering: 90 hours

  • Post 301 Broker Relationships and Responsibilities
  • Post 302 Contracts and Closing
  • Post 303 NC Law, Rules, and Legal Concepts

Textbooks: Post License courses require textbooks that are provided by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.  They are available for sale digitally or in print by the commission.

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.  

Final Exam Instructions and Proctoring Information: The state requires that your final course exam be proctored and you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. You'll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. You can find full details of the proctoring process here. Upon passing the final course exam you will be asked to sign an affidavit verifying your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Post-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Extensions cannot be granted beyond 6 months from the purchase of the course.  The course terminates 6 months after purchase.

Certificates:  Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this. 

Of Note: Due to the tax law which mandates that online businesses must collect sales tax in certain states, if your state requires sales tax to be collected, it will automatically be added to the total amount due at checkout minus any donation made to The CE Shop Foundation. For questions, please contact The CE Shop at 1.888.827.0777 or Support@TheCEShop.com.

North Carolina Real Estate Commission

Street Address: 1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 17100, Raleigh, NC 27619-7100

Telephone: 919.875.3700

Fax: 919.877.4216

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

CE Information

Post Licensing Information

Contact NC Real Estate Commission